The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has four regional divisions that carry out the objectives of the Association in their own territories. Each Division independently manages its own affairs, including electing officers, holding annual meetings, and carrying out other activities such as holding topic-specific symposia or sponsoring publications. The four regional divisions are the Arctic, Caribbean, Pacific, and Southwestern and Rocky Mountain. AAAS members automatically become a member of the division in which they reside.

History of the SWARM Division

The Southwestern Division of AAAS was initially organized to satisfy a regional need for communication, exchange, and "companionship among fellow workers" (Germann 1948, 224) to overcome the relative isolation of those practicing in the scientific disciplines. In March 1920, Andrew Elicott Douglass, professor of Astronomy and Director of the Steward Observatory at the University of Arizona, and Daniel Trembley MacDougal, Director of the Desert Laboratory, toured the colleges and universities of Arizona, New Mexico, and west Texas to recruit scientists for a regional organization. Following a convening of southwestern delegates in Tucson on 10 April 1920, the AAAS Executive Committee formally authorized a regional division on 26 April 1920.

Until 1953, the Division consisted of AAAS members residing in Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Colorado and the Mexican states of Sonora and Chihuahua. With the inclusion of Wyoming and that part of Montana east of the Continental divide, the name of the Division was changed to the Southwestern and Rocky Mountain Division (SWARM) of the AAAS. The Division was later expanded and currently serves nearly 14,000 members residing in 11 states in the United States, 4 states in Mexico, and 2 provinces in Canada:

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Kansas
  • Montana, east of the Continental Divide
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Wyoming
  • In Mexico, Chichuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo Leon, and Sonora
  • In Canada, Manitoba and Saskatchewan

To learn more about the American Association for the Advancement of Science and its activities please visit their web-site at www.aaas.org.

To become a member of AAAS please visit their on-line membership page.